Day 1

I did it. I signed up. I held onto the registration form for days and changed my mind a hundred times but it’s a done deal now. I am all set to start training for an Olympic distance triathlon that will happen in Philadelphia on June 24. I’m scared to death, but excited too. To celebrate I went running.¬† Good thing I didn’t do that before I turned in the form because my sore knees might have won over and I’d have never signed up.

Why am I doing such a crazy thing? Well, because it’s for the right reasons. Team in Training is an organization that helps folks train for these events and raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma society. Since Dave has lymphoma this opportunity seemed to be calling my name. What a great way for me to feel I’m “doing something” about this and since exercise is my best anti-depressant hopefully I’ll keep myself mentally and physically healthy in the process. This blog is where I will keep details about how the training is going, what’s happening with the fundraising, and maybe get support here and there I hope.

So, the first step is done. On to the next 10 million more..

4 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. Jennifer Lazinsk Says:

    YOU GO GIRL!!
    IT’S SO AWESOME TO BE PASSIONATE ABOUT THIS….!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I’LL BE CHECKING IN ON YOU!
    ME

  2. CINDY TOWNSEND Says:

    I WILL GLADLY SUPPORT YOU, I LOVE YOU LIKE A COUSIN! KEEP ME INFORMED AND I HOPE YOU ARE ALL DOING GOOD! LUV YA!

  3. Jennifer Lazinsk Says:

    Yay for you, Neva! You have quite a few days under your belt now…and in the cold!!!! It will only get easier from here I suspect…(weather wise, that is)!! I’m thrilled that you seem so excited…..I love reading your updates…keep on keeping on……June will be here and you will have succeeded before you know it!

  4. Jennifer Lazinsk Says:

    Neva,
    I am so impressed by your blogs…they bring tears to my eyes…and I’m so thrilled that you have seen yourself get so much stronger along the way….this training, indeed, seems to have given you sooooo much in return…..and I’m excited to keep checking in and seeing your progress!
    Have a beautiful run on this glorious day!

Leave a Reply

