Anticipation

Tomorrow is the big yard sale event – a multifamily sale dreamed up by my neighbors with all proceeds to go to the LLS. I still cannot get over the generosity and thoughtfulness of these folks, especially now as I’m beginning to get a feel for how much work this is.

I spent the better part of the last evening rummaging through donations and trying to set up some organization for it all. One person’s junk is another’s treasure and the other ladies and I were coveting some of the stuff already although we have bets on whether some more unusual items will sell at all. I won’t go into that.

I’ll try to update later in the weekend when it’s all over to give a total earned and a play by play. I know right now I’m exhausted after dreaming all night about haggling over prices. But, I’m also surprisingly energized and excited about how the effort of just small group of creative folks can make a difference. It’s easy to forget that sometimes. I’m in the middle of reading the book The Tipping Point and it seems one of the author’s theories is about how one (or two or three in this case) motivated and energized person can really make big changes. How was I so lucky to live near so many of these people?

Leave a Reply

