It takes a culdesac…. to raise 2300 dollars!!

The Team !2300 dollars!

I never thought a yard sale could bring in 2300 dollars. Unbelievable!! It was beyond a total success. Not only did we make great money I think everyone truly had a great time. The weather was incredible. We ate Krispy Kreme donuts during the event then celebrated with pizza, cake and ice cream and toasted ourselves and our hard work. There was an atmosphere of community spirit like I’ve never experienced before and there were tears of joy… from me mostly, but still, an awesome day!

I’ve been thinking about this experience and realized that life is punctuated by big events that color your memories and impact how you see yourself and your life from then on. There are weddings, births and deaths, etc., – positive or negative, these events change people and for me this neighborhood yard sale was one of those. To look around and see my neighbors all wearing Team in Training shirts while pricing each other’s “treasures”, lugging giant furniture, organizing and staging old clothes and toys, selling the chairs right out from under them (that weren’t actually for sale until someone asked!) and promoting the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society was amazing! Then we stood and had pictures taken together along with my triathlon teammate Mandy and my coach Bruce (who road over from RTP on his bike to be there!). I was so pumped up afterward that even after standing in the culdesac from 6am to 2pm I ran 5 miles in the late afternoon and it felt incredible! Just goes to show you so much of exercise is truly mental.

People say that neighborhoods aren’t like they used to be, that we’re all isolated in our houses looking at computers and TVs, that there is no sense of community – well, they haven’t been to Pitch Pine Lane! I am so honored and thankful to live here and overwhelmed by the support and love of these people. I plan to float through this week on the high of this event and try not to forget that most people (at least around this street) really do care.

One Response to “It takes a culdesac…. to raise 2300 dollars!!”

  1. Emma Says:

    WOW! Congratulations! It’s been a long time since I’ve seen this kind of excitement out of you. And that may even be greater than the money raised.

Leave a Reply

