Go Team!

This time tomorrow we’ll be on the plane to Philly. The work is behind us now and I’m excited and a little bit nervous. Our incredible coach Bruce sent us an email today detailing all the hours we have put in since February and I was a little shocked. Here it is!

swim: 20 hours (roughly 35 miles)
bike: 50 hours (roughly 800 miles)
run: 30 hours (roughly 200 miles)
strength: 20 hours
total: 120 hours

Wow! I’ll keep remember that when I start to wonder, “have I done enough?”.

I have so enjoyed most of that time though, especially the weekend workouts with my Team . Our team has been a dedicated group of 3 – me, Pam and Mandy along with the encouraging support of our coach.tnt-team.jpg.

We have different backgrounds and families but have bonded around a common goal and together we have raised over $16,000. We all started on the same day (about 2 weeks late on the official TNT training calendar) and we have been very loyal ever since. These two women are impressive individuals who have inspired me, and I look forward to celebrating this weekend with them and of course with my awesome family (including my brother, sister-in-law, nephews and Mom who are all flying up too!). I’ll be back on Monday with news and photos. Thanks again for all your support!

Hey all – it’s later in the day and I wanted to add just one more thing… Please raise your glass on Sunday around noon and hope that I’m all done and if you need some musical accompaniment to your celebratory drink crank up India.Arie’s new single Beautiful Flower. It’s an incredible song and if you buy it on itunes all the proceeds go to Oprah’s South Africa school for girls. Plus – it’s got one of the best lyrics I’ve heard in a while – “Next time the radio tells you to shake your moneymaker – shake your head and tell them you’re a leader!  There is nothing in the world that you cannot do, when you believe in you”. I know this is one of many songs I’ll be singing to myself while I swim, bike and run on Sunday. Feel free to sing along.

3 Responses to “Go Team!”

  1. Millie and Jeff Says:

    Hi Neva – Don’t know if you have the same email at your UNC address – but we wanted to let you know that we are making a dontaion tonight and we will be thinking of you!!!
    Our best to you, Dave and the girls…
    Go Neva, Go!
    M & J

  2. Greg Says:

    Good luck this weekend!

  3. Cathryn Says:

    Hi Neva!
    Just hopped over from Ian’s blog to wish you all the best, but of course now all the hard work is behind you. I was just reading your entry about being thankful for good health, including the strength to take on challenging physical feats like your triathlon. Having just won a place in the NYC marathon, I was a little over-eager to get back out there and strained a ligament. That too will heal, but again, a lesson in not over-estimating yourself and staying on target. Having read about your training, you undoubtedly did and most likely did extremely well! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

